Good News for the New Year!

Good News for the New Year!

We are pleased to announce that Congress has taken a significant step to ensure the future of this special place. Because we are blessed with significant natural, cultural, and historic resources of national importance, Congress has extended the National Heritage Corridor’s ability to receive federal funds through 2021. While this measure does not guarantee any dollar amount in a given year, it reaffirms that The Last Green Valley National Heritage Corridor is eligible and worthy of continued federal investment.

The same legislation, which was signed into law by President Obama on December 19, also formally changed the Corridor’s name from the hard-to-remember “Quinebaug and Shetucket Rivers Valley National Heritage Corridor” to a more apt moniker, “The Last Green Valley National Heritage Corridor.” Green by day and dark by night, The Last Green Valley is still 77% forest and field.

We are grateful for the support of Senator Richard Blumenthal, who introduced the legislation in the Senate, and Congressman Joseph Courtney, who introduced the legislation in the House. Senator Blumenthal noted, “The Last Green Valley is a name that honors the deep heritage, history and beauty of this region – indeed the last large stretch of forestland and wilderness remaining in the densely developed Boston to Washington corridor. Through their tremendous work, the stewards and caretakers of this proud National Heritage Corridor have protected and celebrated this pristine landscape, and I hope this name change will help advance those efforts for generations to come.” Congressman Courtney remarked, “The officially-renamed Last Green Valley is one of eastern Connecticut’s most important natural treasures. From pastoral rolling farmland to wild, wooded forests, this area helps define the character of our region, which is why I sponsored the original legislation to preserve the National Heritage Corridor. I am pleased that the six-year reauthorization approved last week as part of the defense authorization bill, which I voted for, will ensure that the Corridor will continue to receive federal support and protection in the future.”

We would also like to thank Senators Elizabeth Warren and Christopher Murphy, and Congressmen Richard Neal and James McGovern, for co-sponsoring this legislation and for their continued support of our National Heritage Corridor.


Get Connected

Sign up for our newsletter

"*" indicates required fields